Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Adapting the TH350 the the NP205

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by adamforsythe, Nov 11, 2004.

  1. adamforsythe

    adamforsythe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Hello,
    Right now my '85 blazer has the NP208 T-case in front of the TH350 (Yes it has a adapter). Now my ? is will the NP205 bolt right on or will I have to go out and buy a new adapter?
    Thanks
    Adam
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    you will need the correct adapter and the correct tailshaft, the on your have is way too long.
     
  3. adamforsythe

    adamforsythe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    [ QUOTE ]
    you will need the correct adapter and the correct tailshaft, the on your have is way too long.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Hello,
    What do you mean?
    Thanks
    ADam
     
  4. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    [ QUOTE ]
    the one you have is way too long.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I hear that all the time.
    /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif
     
  5. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    the adapter for the 208 is 8" long or so, the one for the np205 is 2", the output shaft from the tranny is way too long.
     
  6. adamforsythe

    adamforsythe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    the one you have is way too long.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I hear that all the time.
    /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    ?????????????????????????????????????????
     
  7. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    you will need a new adapter that was for a th-350/np205 setup
     
  8. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    You seem to be asking the same question in two different posts. What you need is a different output shaft for your TH350 (real short- only an inch or so out of the case of the trans), and an OEM TH350-NP205 adapter available in GM trucks 69 or so to 72-73 and then again in 80. I have a broken adapter for sale that could be fixed. Let me know if you are interested in it.
     

Share This Page