Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Adding AC - How Difficult

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 79Guy, Jul 21, 2000.

  1. 79Guy

    79Guy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2000
    Posts:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southeastern VA
    I've got a 79 w/ no AC. Sure gets hot. Has any added AC? How tough is it? Can I take the parts from an old GM, or is there something new with 134a?

    Thanks
    79 Guy

    Owner of Two Great 4WD
    - '79 Blazer
    - '99 ML320
     
  2. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    I took a complete system out of an old wrecked truck and put it in my '81 stepside. It wasn't too bad. I have lots of tools for fab work and such. I also have all the a/c equipment, so it wasn't too big a project. It was definitely worth the effort here in Texas. The other thing I had at the time was cheap R12. I completely flushed the old system and put in a new dryer and orfice tube. Cutting the hole in the firewall was probably the worst part. It can be done!
    Let me know if I can help.

    Michael [​IMG] http://jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm
     
  3. Tommy

    Tommy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2000
    Posts:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    I've got a 70 Blazer, originally had AC, but someone took it out. Would a later model evap housing work?
     
  4. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    They tell me anything can be made to work with enuff hours and $$$$.....I don't know. You might be better off with a "street rod" type system made by Vintage Air or something similar. It's a complete system with all parts and they really work well. Try http://www.vintageair.com/vintage.htm Look in the Truck sure fit section. They have a setup for '67-'72 trucks!

    Michael [​IMG] http://jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm
     
  5. Balou

    Balou 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2000
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    back to Germany
    I think about adding a bolt on system to the hard-top.
    Will look like a frigo-truck, but will work much better than
    the stock ones. Saw one which will only give 5cm (sorry 2inches) additional hight. They really boost cold air inside !!!

    Balou
    "Size DOES matter!!!", said the girl last night.
    http://www.balou.coloradok5.com
     
  6. 73CowBlazer

    73CowBlazer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I have a 73 with all this hosing to control the vents. I believe they all run off the engine vacuumn? Does anyone know where to get new control panel and the little vacuum servos to make this all work again. Would love to have AC in Houston..
     
  7. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas

Share This Page