Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Advance ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Highlander, Nov 1, 2001.

  1. Highlander

    Highlander 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Colo
    Ok I know this is most likely a stupid question but I just have to ask. I running a Edelbrock Carb and i've got two vacuum ports one is timed the other is not, at idle this one has 5in of vacuum the other one starts pulling vac. at just off idle now what I would like to know is witch port should I put my hose for the Mallory Unilite.
    Eric

    <a target="_blank" href=http://cethern.tripod.com/erics-home-page-and-other-stuff/>http://cethern.tripod.com/erics-home-page-and-other-stuff/</a>
    AMSOIL Dealer # 529948
    Cethern@interfold.com
     
  2. 2cocky

    2cocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    The timed port is for the newer emisions distributers and the manafold port is for the older non-emisions distributers. At least thats what the book that came with my carb said. Most distributers hook up to the timed port. If you get it back wards you will know (trust me) It will idle great then run like [censored] soon as you hit the gas. Thats why I time the eng with the distributer disconected.It keeps you from giveing your eng all the vac. timing at idle.

    OOOPS....I THINK I JUST RAN OVER YOUR JEEP THING!!!!!
     
  3. Highlander

    Highlander 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Colo
    So what your saying is put the hose on the port that has the 5in of vac?

    Eric

    <a target="_blank" href=http://cethern.tripod.com/erics-home-page-and-other-stuff/>http://cethern.tripod.com/erics-home-page-and-other-stuff/</a>
    AMSOIL Dealer # 529948
    Cethern@interfold.com
     
  4. 2cocky

    2cocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Maryland
    What I usally do is start the eng. and put my finger over the port if it has vac at idle you will feel it pull on your finger. that port sould be pluged. the other port sould not have vac (pulling feeling on your finger) at idle. That is the port you want to hook up to.
    Now if you haven'y passed to much gas from all that finger pulling you eng should run correctly once you set the timeing.

    OOOPS....I THINK I JUST RAN OVER YOUR JEEP THING!!!!!
     
  5. Burbinator

    Burbinator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Posts:
    898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tempe, Arizona
    Like 2cocky said, you want the port that has no vacuum at idle. The reason for this is that you want the distributor to advance the timing OFF idle, not AT idle. Run the port pulling vacuum to your vapor canister or similar component that requires vacuum regardless of throttle position, or plug it if you don't have anything to run to it.

    The learning curve is a toll road...ride with someone who has already paid!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://photos.yahoo.com/abshort1>My Land Yacht</a>
     
  6. Highlander

    Highlander 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Colo
    Opps I guess I better put it back where it was haha
    thanks guys

    Eric

    <a target="_blank" href=http://cethern.tripod.com/erics-home-page-and-other-stuff/>http://cethern.tripod.com/erics-home-page-and-other-stuff/</a>
    AMSOIL Dealer # 529948
    Cethern@interfold.com
     

Share This Page