Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Afro built a winch bumper, took a bunch of pictures and did a full write-up

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by afroman006, Aug 23, 2004.

1. afroman006

afroman006 1/2 ton status

After pricing all the winch bumpers I could find for my truck, I was less than impressed. Not one of them was exactly what I wanted, and, they all cost more than I wanted to spend. Now, I am by no means a professional fabricator, maybe not even a competent one, but I decided I could handle building a bumper on my own, and make exactly what I want. I realize, not everyone has a 6000 sq. ft. shop and a bunch of cool tools at their disposal, but this could definitely be done with far less expense and equipment. For this project I used the following tools:

Trick Tools Model 3 tubing bender with 2” and 1 ½” dies
    Tubing notcher (it broke so I ended up not using it, but it would have been handy)
    Cutting torch
    Welding machine
    Grinder
    Drill press
    Grease pencil
    Measuring tape
    Various clamps
    Normal hand tools
    Angle finder

Like any other project, time is also a necessity. I took me about 7 days to do my bumper. Materials for individual bumpers can vary to a great extent, so this is where you must decide what is best for you. Following is what I used.

4 ½ sq. ft. of 3/8” plate
    2 2” receiver blanks (local trailer supply place)
    9’ 2” ¼” wall round tube
    20’ 1 ½” .188 wall round tube