Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

aftermarket guages/factory dash

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bodacious, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. bodacious

    bodacious 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quitman, Mississippi
    How hard is it to install aftermarket guages in the factory locations in an 83 dash? I also think I saw a link to a custom dash with the guages already installed on here. Pics would be appreciated. Thanks for the help.:waytogo:
     
  2. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    Install is easy. To get the proper angle so they face the driver is the hard part.
     
  3. 76_gmc

    76_gmc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Enterprise, AL
    let me know

    bodacious...you get good info on this, let me know. I have an 84 and want to get rid of the look and redo the dash/console/bezel and gauges completely.
     
  4. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
  5. Jrgunn5150

    Jrgunn5150 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Oh
    Doa search there are two really good threads on the subject.
     
  6. bodacious

    bodacious 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quitman, Mississippi
    :eek1: :eek: :doah: Covans Classic is HIGH $$$$$. I just don't see that much in the products they have.:eek1: :eek: :doah:
     
  7. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    Ryoken points out the problems with the Covan as well. Not for me!:rolleyes:
     
  8. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,623
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Yup, either Jeremy or Sweetk30 did the same thing with a dremel and 10 minutes...

    I have to find the pic of THE one factory setup i've seen with the gauges done at a nice angle... its a 2 wd truck.. i'll hunt for it...
     
  9. rivermtnman

    rivermtnman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon, VA
    Here's a pic I saved from a forum in here I once saw...

    jkjlkjljh.jpg
     
  10. 76_gmc

    76_gmc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Enterprise, AL
    not bad, and probably saved a few pennies that way too.
     
  11. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,623
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore

    yup, thats the one... It's the only one i've seen with angle correction....
     
  12. HEAVY METAL

    HEAVY METAL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maple Ridge B.C. Canada
    heres mine.. no angle correction... i dont drive her oin the street much soo didnt feel that it needed done.. i can see the gauges just fine....i used a trenz billet alumin piece that is designed too bolt on over ur existing dash...

    Picture 006.jpg

    Picture 007.jpg

    Picture 004.jpg

    Picture 002.jpg
     
  13. onetonbb74

    onetonbb74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Posts:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Campbell, CA
    heres mine, no angle correction for the 2 main guages, but i only stare at all the small guages anyways.
    [​IMG]
     
  14. BKinzey

    BKinzey 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Posts:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollywierd, CA
    So if you got a piece of aluminum and copied that bolt on one. How thick should the aluminum need to be to cut the holes at the correct angle for mounting? 1/4" - 5/16" - 3/8" ? I've thought about getting flat stock to make a solid panel, either by making the two bends or possibly 3 flat pieces and then take it somewhere to cut the angled holes for me.
     
  15. ccatlett1984

    ccatlett1984 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Posts:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    why not just make up an angled piece of tube (wedge shaped) and put it between the front of the guage and the sheet of metal

    you would be able to adjust the angle by varying the wedge.
     
  16. justiz00

    justiz00 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Posts:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Texas
  17. Jrgunn5150

    Jrgunn5150 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Posts:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, Oh
    So does SUmmit.
     
  18. BDAMNRZ

    BDAMNRZ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesterfield, VA
    gauge panel

    Here are some pics of mine. I used the angle rings on all of them. It makes them a lot easier to see. I cutout the back of the change tray. Got some plastic I found in the garage and covered the opening. Then cut the hole and used angle rings for the tranny temp and fuel pressure.

    100_1177.JPG

    100_1178.JPG

    100_1181.JPG
     
  19. 01maroonz71

    01maroonz71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Palmetto, fl
    doesn't that shift light blind you?
     
  20. BDAMNRZ

    BDAMNRZ 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Posts:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesterfield, VA
    I usually have a cover on that. Its not blinding in the day cause when it goes off I'm usually not looking right at it anyway. At night it will.
     

Share This Page