Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

air compressor question

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by 1983Blazerkid, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. 1983Blazerkid

    1983Blazerkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    brownsburg, in
    ive got an air compressor and im getting quite abit of oil through the lines got a water/oil seperater on the line but seems like there is still quite abit through it. any input would help. i was going to buy like a new ring kit for it and see if it works just wanted to see what you guys thought first thanks cody
     
  2. Confedneck79K30

    Confedneck79K30 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    5,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LA
    cody, is it fairly new? our compressors do that if you dont retorque the head after the first 15 hours then 50 hours...
     
  3. 1983Blazerkid

    1983Blazerkid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    brownsburg, in
    its prolly 5 yrs old so what do you reccomend
     
  4. Avery4jc

    Avery4jc 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca.
    where does your air line come out of the tank? Top, bottom, side?
     
  5. Confedneck79K30

    Confedneck79K30 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Posts:
    5,384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LA
    that will affect it, does your seperator have a drain valve? if so, have you drained it or the tank lately?
     
  6. Avery4jc

    Avery4jc 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca.
    when I got my 80 gallon compressor I filled it up to 120psi then released the valve on the bottom of the tank and I got a TON of gunk to come out...so I was just thinking that if your line is towards the bottom of the tank and you haven't drained it in a while it could cause that.
     

Share This Page