Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Aldl cable to laptop help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bad_bo_ti, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. bad_bo_ti

    bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OhiO
    just got my aldl cable and dont know how to hook it up. its for my 93 chevy, i bought the cable off aldlcable.com my truck appears to have the a b d and m plugs under the dash. what do i plug into and what color wire (on the cable) goes into the slot red or black. also under configurations in winaldl what should i have it set up as. thanks, chris
     
  2. eagle mark

    eagle mark 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Posts:
    3,289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Idaho!
    I don't know what their colors are but here is a picture to help figure out where thery go.

    If you plug them in wrong it won't hurt anything it just won't work.

    [​IMG]

    Configuration you should chose your ECM number, everthing else is set.
     
  3. bad_bo_ti

    bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OhiO
    well there is the problem i dont have an e port where the blue wire is going. and i havent looked at my ecm for its number but there have 2 different numbers listed for it on the net and i only remember one, how hard is it to get the ecm
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Somewhere on the net (perhaps thirdgen.org) there is an ALDL pinout.

    There are two "data" lines on many aldl connectors IIRC, so it might be "B" and "M" that are both data.

    I'd have to look at mine again, but I believe B and M on mine are tied together in the harness. B and M *sound* correct anyways.
     
  5. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
  6. bad_bo_ti

    bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OhiO
    so do i need to plug into b and m together, i have tried seperatly and also do i need another resister in it. thanks, chris
     
  7. eagle mark

    eagle mark 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Posts:
    3,289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Idaho!
    Is this the aldl plug you have? This is like some 94 95 models.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. eagle mark

    eagle mark 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Posts:
    3,289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Idaho!
  9. bad_bo_ti

    bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OhiO
    nope mine is the 12 pin shown in the post already. i plan on using winaldl.
     

Share This Page