Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Alright, need some help...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BlazerWheels, Dec 16, 2003.

1. BlazerWheels

BlazerWheels 1/2 ton status

Before you all start wetting your pants laughing, I've never done it before /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif....How do you set/check timing. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif I know you need a light, and you adjust the distributor...what I need are specific steps? and what should the timing be set to?
    It is a stock 350 in a '85 /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif. It is missing. I figured I would start with the timing, then the plugs, cap, rotor, etc...

OK, now start the laughing, but also give me the info I need /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

Thanks. /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

2. k20

k20 3/4 ton status

Dont feel bad ive never done it before either, and dont know how. I do know however on the comp controlled timin vehicles there is a (tan?) wire going to the (distributor?) that you have to unplug, or else you will never set timing the comp will keep changing it back.

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

The distributor has a hold down clamp/bolt that needs to be loosened. Once loose the distributor can be turned either direction to advance or retard the timing.

The timing light is aimed at a tab on the timing chain cover. The harmonic balancer has a 'zero' mark notched in it...usually a bit of 'white out' or soapstone across the mark (on the balancer)will make it a lot easier to see. The inductive timing guns clip onto the number 1 spark plug lead, and each time that cylinder fires the timing light 'blinks'. With each blink it'll light up the mark on the balancer and show you where it's firing.