Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

alternative schools

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by mostwanted, Apr 26, 2007.

1. mostwanted

mostwanted 1/2 ton status

My father wants me to go talk to a class at a alternative school. I attended behavioral disorder classes up untill my freshman year of High School. I made new friends in HS, and I had a better attitude about life from then on. Anyway, I would consider myself successful now as I have a career and a degree and fit right in to normal society. I am looking for some ideas. Anyone else have expieriance with alternative schools or behavioral classes?

2. boggerless

boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member

no,but GOOD for you bo!!!!!:bow: :D

3. kgillyk5

kgillyk5 1/2 ton status

No experience but I don't see an advantage to putting special needs people all together away from everyone else. I think that they would benefit from having contact with the rest of the population instaed of being treated as different...unless they are completly out of control.

4. mostwanted

I would have to disagree. The way it was when I was in school you didn't go to a seperate school. You either went to a classroom set aside someplace all day or part of the day and checked in. All depends on your particular situation. If you were in trouble all the time you spent more time in that class. Personally, I was only in there a few times a day. Problem was, other kids knew I had to go there and razzed me alot about it. So it would seem to be better to seperate to prevent furthar problems. On the other hand, the school work in the special classes wasn't as challenging as it was in the mainstream classes. So, I guess it WOULD be hard to develope a good program to help these kids if I were the school administration.:confused:

5. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status