Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Alternator

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k20, Nov 19, 2005.

  1. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Ok, I think my alternator has had it. Massively pulsing lights, howling sound from the alternator, and voltmeter freakin out. So, I begin the search for a 140amp. Now, I am completely ignorant as to what style is on my truck, 10si, 12si, cs130, AHHHHHH. Ok, heres what is on the truck now, its the stock 350alternator, w/ 2 prongs, 3 wire hookup. It has the pulley(flat belt) from the alternator that was on my big block, which was a 4 prong(IIRC) 3 wire setup. What powermaster 140 do I need?

    Theres this one http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=PWM%2D47802&view=1&N=115 but it doesnt show an 87 350 truck as an application, but it does list my 88 burban 454 as an application. Which plug style do you think it would have? The 2 or 4 prong?

    And then, theres this one http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=PWM%2D47294&N=115&autoview=sku Unfortunately it has a V belt pulley, and a 1 wire hookup (dont really wanna hack the harness). Its a 10si, and the one above is a cs130.

    What do I need, and if the top one has the 4 pin, instead of the 2 prong, is there an adapter for it? Someone help, I dont like strobe lights for headlights.

    Thanks, Ive said it about 100 times on this board, I HATE ELECTRICAL! Chris.
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Not exactly what you were asking, but alternators are extremely easy and cheap to rebuild. I'm suspecting you have another reason to go with a 140 though...
     
  3. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    I'm in the same mode. 1985 w 10SI, I put in an Autolite w lifetime warranty, but it needs 100-140 amp. After all the surfing, it looks like at idle, 100 amp will cost $100-150, 140 amp will cost $200-to-way-to-much. Then theres on-board welding? For yours, the CS130 or CS130D looks pretty trick, you already have S-belt www.novaresource.com . Don't worry the wiring, theres plenty of adapters & info avail. But yea, definetly step-up to the CS alternators, I'm suspicious of 10SI or 12SI cranked-up to 140 amp; to get that out-put, its gotta be WFO. I spent three days at Hi and Lo 4X with CB on fulltime, alternator was keeping-up, but just. Hope there's a bunch of reply today.:D
     
  4. 425 Xpedition

    425 Xpedition 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crosby, Texas
    I used the altenator from a 1996 corvette. It is 140 amp. Put it in place of 12si on a big block. Had to modify the bracket that controls the tension. Had to make the slot 1/4" wider. Been running it for four years now and it works great. Best thing is costs around $100 from auto parts. Need to put one on my 89 blazer, just have not got around to doing it yet.
     
  5. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    OK, is it a CS130, CS130D or CS140, and were you able to use the 12SI as core or was it $100 outright?:confused:
     
  6. 425 Xpedition

    425 Xpedition 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Posts:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crosby, Texas
    If I remember right (I have CRS) it is a CS130. I put the 12si in the box and gave it to them as a core. Most counter guys have no clue what they are looking at. The only thing I had to change was the plug.
     
  7. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    That's my kind of exchange program. Thanks.:D
     
  8. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Alrighty, well, after researching, Im goin w/ the cs130, and change the plug on the truck. Now I have to get some massive cable & make me new batt cables (cant have a new alt and old cables now can we ;) )
     
  9. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    We're all charged-up n rarin to go.:D
     

Share This Page