Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

amp cuts out

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by FatBoyBlazer, Jan 9, 2002.

  1. FatBoyBlazer

    FatBoyBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Posts:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    when ever i've got my heater on and my stereo up loud, my amp cuts out when i put on my head lights!!! i've installed a CAP(1farad) and it still does it........any suggestions.....its an MTX 4424 amp

    hola
     
  2. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color=blue>Get a more powerfull alternator. The capacitor is just a band-aid
     
  3. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    If you have the stock alt then I to would have it beefed up at your local rebuilders or get a new 100 amp or better.one ?? does it cut out at idle or at any time like driving, you can also get a 1 wire alt hook up these charge ot any speed I do belive.The cap is just for sudden bursts of needed power otherwise the power comes from the alt/battery ( iI think) just my 2 cents later-mike
     
  4. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    sorry but forgot your amp will also cut out if there isnt 12v (like lights and heater making alt work over time and the volts could get below the req.12v)
     
  5. mike_d

    mike_d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BelAir Maryland
    First thing i would do is check to make sure all of your connections are good
    and maybe the amp is getting to hot and the thermal circut breaker is tripping
    or maybe you have the gain turned up to high on the amp

    oh s**t I think I ran over a Honda.


    84 k5 blazer 6" lift 35" baja claws
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I would assume that you are running some fairly large cable for your positive and negative connections to the amp. The greater the distance from the battery to your amp, the greater the cable size needs to be to handle the current flow. Your amp should also be hooked up directly to the battery and not from any other source. Just my $.02
     
  7. lifted95z71

    lifted95z71 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Posts:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    birmingham alabama
    also take your remote turn on wire and run if off a relay from the battery. i had that same problem and for weeks i did everything i could to fix it til i finally realized it was the remote lead dropping voltage. it would only do it in the rain which had me puzzled. turned out to only be a coincidence.
     
  8. clintsk5

    clintsk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Posts:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingman, Az.
    ..First ..Check all connections...Make sure your amp is grounded to BARE metal..NO PAINT!!..Make sure you are using the same gauge wire for power and ground!!!( and the wire is the right gauge for your current draw)..Is the amp main power wire direct to the battery !(with a fuse or breaker no more than 18" away)!..Is you Capacitor close to your amp?..Is it grounded the same place as your amp??...Check your Alt. belt!!..Is it loose??..Try to spin the fan (on the ALT.) if it turns and the engine does not turn ..It is loose!! (do this with the engine off..LOL...!!)..If all is good...You need a better Alternator..Dual batts will just ask more from your Alt!!.....Just my .02...Later..~CLINT~..

    76 Blazer roller-rockered 7" lift locked 3/4 ton axles 35" BFG's custom oxidized paint with rust accents!!!.Dont follow me...YOU WONT MAKE IT!!!!<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by clintsk5 on 01/10/02 10:55 AM.</FONT></P>
     
  9. FatBoyBlazer

    FatBoyBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Posts:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    i've got 4 gauge to a fuse under the hood........through the fire wall......to the cap....3inchs...to another fuse block(dual) 8 gauge about 2 feet of wire to the amps ones a 400 watt depth charge and the other is an MTX 4244 60x4 amp.....it s a 1Farad cap too......its all in my 91' so it should have a stock 110 amp alternator right...????? all the fuses are 60 amp.
    all the speaker wire is 14 gauge....any more questions???

    hola
     
  10. walt88

    walt88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouth County, NJ
    Its prolly a bad ground


    350FI/700r4/NP208c/10b's ORD 4" Shackle Flip/ORD Disconnects <font color=red>NJK5</font color=red><a target="_blank" href=http://groups.yahoo.com/group/njk5club>http://groups.yahoo.com/group/njk5club</a>
     

Share This Page