Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Amp Wiring Help

Discussion in 'Audio' started by 87BrnRsd, Feb 15, 2004.

1. 87BrnRsd

87BrnRsd 1/2 ton status

Ok, let me start off by saying that I am not a professional at hooking up systems. So, I am having a little difficulty with mine. I have a sony xplode cd player, and my system consists of 2 alpine type r 12" subs, and the amp is a soundstream tarantula 700/2. I have everything wired in, but the subs arent working. Basically here is what my problem is. I cut the system control wire that comes from the back of the cd player into a wiring harness, and spliced the system control for the amp into it. Here is the weird part. The power light on the amp comes on when the cd player is set to an fm station. The light comes on, but the subs dont hit. If I turn the cd player to cd mode, the power light on the amp turns off, and no power goes to it. I figure that something is messed up with the system control wire, since the subs arent working, and the power to the amp turns off when I try to play cd's only, but I dont know what exactly is wrong. Can anyone help me? Thanks.
    -Harrison

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

[ QUOTE ]