Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anayone know how to get mileage out of a vortec 350?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Klink K5, Jan 19, 2003.

  1. Klink K5

    Klink K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Iowa
    I have a 2000 chevrolet crew cab short box 4x4 with 3:73 gears and a 4L80. I just recently bought it and I am dissapointed in the fuel mileage that this thing gets. Pulling a car trailer with a automobile loaded it gets 10 MPG gallon at 67 mph. Just driving this thing around, (Easy on the accelerator), it gets 14mpg! I dont know if I'm to fussy but my old 1997 half ton 4x4 with same engine and gears got 14mpg pulling and 18mph crusing down the interstate at 80 mph. I know that the 3/4 ton chevy has more of a transmission in it than my wimpy half ton, but I have been not able to justify the bigger truck because it sucks gas! Does anayone know what I can do to get better gas mileage,( LIke a chip or better exhaust)your input would be appreciated! Thanks, Klink /forums/images/graemlins/crewcab.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  2. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Was your old 1/2 ton a 4x4? If not that will explain why you got better mileage in that. The newer trucks cant disengage the front axles so they are always spinning when going down the road. Also the 3/4 ton Crewcab is a bigger and heavier truck.
     
  3. conoverbandit

    conoverbandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Posts:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conover N.C
    I can give you a tip for a little better mileage.....Take you 2 magnets and put over your fuel line, I have mine on right before the carb.But does'nt matter where you put them just as lone as you have them so they are pulling to each other and the fuel line is in between them. It really works!I can tell when mine fall off everytime! I have'nt yet come up with a permanet mount for them yet,mine's on with tape but zip ties would work also.What it does is as the fuel passes in between the magnets, The magnets pulling towards each other make a "magnetic field" and the hydrocarbons "bond" together resulting in cleaner emissions,more power, and better fuel mileage. It works on all engines, gas,diesel,etc.I took a speaker apart and split the magnets, use strong ones so they will create the field. I'm not kidding y'all this really works. try it and see. Conoverbandit
     
  4. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    I can give you a tip for a little better mileage.....Take you 2 magnets and put over your fuel line, I have mine on right before the carb.But does'nt matter where you put them just as lone as you have them so they are pulling to each other and the fuel line is in between them. It really works!I can tell when mine fall off everytime! I have'nt yet come up with a permanet mount for them yet,mine's on with tape but zip ties would work also.What it does is as the fuel passes in between the magnets, The magnets pulling towards each other make a "magnetic field" and the hydrocarbons "bond" together resulting in cleaner emissions,more power, and better fuel mileage. It works on all engines, gas,diesel,etc

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Please dont believe everything you read. /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif

    Maybe you could try a few things like a better flowing intake system or exaust system.
     
  5. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I can give you a tip for a little better mileage.....Take you 2 magnets and put over your fuel line, I have mine on right before the carb.But does'nt matter where you put them just as lone as you have them so they are pulling to each other and the fuel line is in between them. It really works!I can tell when mine fall off everytime! I have'nt yet come up with a permanet mount for them yet,mine's on with tape but zip ties would work also.What it does is as the fuel passes in between the magnets, The magnets pulling towards each other make a "magnetic field" and the hydrocarbons "bond" together resulting in cleaner emissions,more power, and better fuel mileage. It works on all engines, gas,diesel,etc

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I think JC Whitney has a kit you can do that with in sparkly chrome. They probably even have a chrome one with lights (L.E.D.) and everystuff.

    John
     
  6. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Maybe you could mount a big magnet on the bumper and drive behind big trucks! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  7. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    GOOD IDEA! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Hey I saw those magnet thingys advertized in JC whitney. The ad was right next to that Tornado thingy. Both claimed something like 20% better milage. Hmm If I put enough of those doo dads on I may never have to fill up again /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    But to help out your Vortec I would do better Exhaust like a Flowmaster Force 2 system. And put on a K&amp;N or similar cold air intake system. I dont think a chip will help improve gas milage.
    Hypertech makes a programer which plugs into the OBD2 port that allows you to change the computers settings and gain more torque on the bottom end. That may help a little also.
    It might not hurt to throw a scanner on it and check for problems There may be something wrong. You should be getting better milage than you are.
     
  9. TONYP

    TONYP 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so cal
    LMAO....so that how the magnet thing work... /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  10. Klink K5

    Klink K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Iowa
    I think i'm going to try the magnet thing..............put a huge sucker on my front bumper to get pulled behind trucks! /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif



    Seriously, I've been looking at a Banks exhaust set up. Anyone out there try one of these larger exhaust? We'll go from there. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. schmuck

    schmuck 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nola(new orleans LA)
    high lift cam will give you better milage and a little more power also
     
  12. st08x

    st08x Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Posts:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Seriously, anyone else tried the magnet thing? does it really work? i want to try that but it seems to simple. no way u can get better mileage and power THAT easy. does anyone else know if it really works or is it just some myth?

    My K-5
     
  13. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    Maybe it needs a tune up? My trucks mileage improved when i opened the spark plug gap up by about .010...i think Vortec's are set at .060...maybe set it to .065 or .070 and see what happens
     

Share This Page