Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Another heater question.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by laketex, Nov 6, 2003.

1. laketex

laketex 3/4 ton status

Ok, the weather's starting to get a bit colder, and the heater is not working on the K5. I ran it for 15 min/10 miles just now and it wouldn't heat up. It's approx 32 degrees out right now. Heats up fine at temps over 50. I have a 180 degree thermostat. Sender sucks for the gauge so i really dont know how hot it's actually getting. I have taurus elec fans on a thermostat that i cranked way up to see if they were holding me up. I felt the lines after this little drive this evening, and while they were above ambient temp, they were nowhere near warm. This is both lines, the one to the mainfold and the one to the radiator. The manifold one was SLIGHTLY warmer. Anyone have any ideas? Change out the thermo? New heater core?

Thanks in advance,

Bryan

2. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

sounds to me that if BOTH your heater lines are only warm, you are needing a new thermo

3. jjlaughner

jjlaughner 3/4 ton status

I went to AutoZone and got some Thermostat in a bubble pack off the shelf

Robertshaw Generation2 thermostat
    #GT755-195 195* thermostat specially designed for EFI's

Big difference, just bought #2 for the plow truck... I dont think it has a thermostat or it has a 210 thermostat or something, it was below freezing and I had the windows down hanging out the window plowing last year and I was still sweating /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif It gets HOT! I dont think the gauge works either because its only reads about 135 most of the time... I think that reads the inside temperature /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

4. clubba68

clubba68 1/2 ton status

Silly question, but have you checked your coolant level?