Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ANOTHER tbi question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by white-rhyno, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. white-rhyno

    white-rhyno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Posts:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellensburg Washington
    Man, we really need an injection forum,
    But anyway, when i got all my tbi stuff last weekend i neglected to get some of the wiring from inside the cab. I never remembered seeing the scanner port. So i quess my question is, can i get the motor running with just the engine bay wiring harness?? I just need to get it running, even if its bad, to get it on a trailer to have the bung welded in for my O2 sensor. Then ill work from there. Thanks guys.
    Brad
     
  2. BIG STEVE

    BIG STEVE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    thornton colorado
    ive run rebuilt eng with a spray bottle just to see if they run but moving
    this may sound nuts but ive loaded stuff with the starter
    get it close 4lo itle get up there.
     
  3. white-rhyno

    white-rhyno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Posts:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellensburg Washington
    i guess i could use a whole can of starting fluid, motors love that. I was more curious to see if it will move on its own.
     
  4. beastofablaze

    beastofablaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I don't know about moving but i have run my tbi 355 with the holley tbi with NO computer telling it what to do...straight tbi/carbration. LOL

    You should be able to get it running without the computer hooked up to it but moving is a whole nother story... i never tried.
     
  5. BIG STEVE

    BIG STEVE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    thornton colorado
    Air idlre sensor throttle position sensor ijector input fuel pump let alone the o2 imput knock sensor and the dozen other computer inputs call a moble welder hell come and do it at your place for less.
     
  6. Joshinator

    Joshinator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sulphur Louisiana
    Yes

    im not 100% sure, but im gonna go with 95% sure that it will run without the scanner port hooked up, and im glad you said something about the scanner port, it reminded me i need to go get mine from the donor truck!
     
  7. CyberSniper

    CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Chelsea, MI
    Nah, the port doesn't need to be there. The rest of the stuff does. Well, except for the instrument cluster.

    Worst case scenario, find a schmuck to sit under the hood squirting carb cleaner down the throttle body.
     
  8. white-rhyno

    white-rhyno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Posts:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellensburg Washington
    What really makes me mad is i worked at a shop for 3.5 years, scanned more vehicles than i care to count, and i still forgot that. Oh well
    Thanks for the help so far.
     
  9. clarkjw24

    clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Posts:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    McBee, SC 29101
    No port needed. I did the swap and have been running mine for about 2 months without it. I actually started this week trying to figure out how to hook the scanner port up. I had to cut some wire from the fuse block and have no idea where they go. <--highjack question. :xmas:
     
  10. justinf

    justinf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tuscola, Illinois
    Agreed I ran my jeep with the TBI 350 with no scanner port all summer last year.
     
  11. white-rhyno

    white-rhyno 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Posts:
    942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellensburg Washington
    Cool beans, thanks
     

Share This Page