Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

another tranny swap ?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by cochino12, Aug 5, 2004.

  1. cochino12

    cochino12 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parker, Co
    My k5 originally had a700 but was swapped for a th 350, when they did the swap the added a extension/bracket kind of thing to get the th350 to bolt up. I am looking at a tranny from another board member his is a Short output shaft (350 version) which allows you to bolt up a np203 or np205.

    I have a 208 tc in my blazer, Is this tranny going to work? Thanks
     
  2. SF87K5

    SF87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stedman, North Carolina
    [ QUOTE ]
    when they did the swap the added a extension/bracket kind of thing to get the th350 to bolt up

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Where is this at, on the bell housing or for the tranny/tcase?
     
  3. cochino12

    cochino12 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parker, Co
    I think this is what I am talking about.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. SF87K5

    SF87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stedman, North Carolina
    that looks like the adapterfor a 2wd th350 so you can bolt a np208 to it. The shaft on a 4wd th350 is not long enough so you have to use a 2wd th350 with both those adapters.
     
  5. cochino12

    cochino12 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parker, Co
    Does that mean the new tranny wont work?
     
  6. cochino12

    cochino12 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parker, Co
    anyone? So does that mean I can just go grab a th350 2wd and bolt it in?
     
  7. JRS2 75K5

    JRS2 75K5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2001
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Missouri
    The ony 2wd tranny that will work must have the short output shaft. There were several 2wd tranny's and some had longer output shafts. The short shaft version will not bolt to your setup without cutting approx 7/8" off of the end end of the shaft. The adapters I have seen were designed to replace the 700r so that there was no change in length = no modification to driveshafts.
     

Share This Page