Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Antifreeze in Oil

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by DonJuanNM, Jan 16, 2005.

1. DonJuanNM

DonJuanNM Newbie

Hello, I'm new to the CK5 and I already need some help! My 1990 Blazer starting smoking really bad last week, the smoke smells like Antifreeze!!! When I drained the oil, Antifreeze was present in the oil! I was told that I need to replace the head gaskets! I'm not a gearhead in the least so I I'm looking for a reliable shop or someone with the knowledge and spare time here in Colorado Springs that I can take my Blazer to. Please Help
    Don

[​IMG]

2. stallion85

stallion85 1/2 ton status

Knowing CK5 members one might just offer to help you. It's really not that hard, if you have basic tools, I would buy a haynes manual and see if you think it is too advanced for you. I have changed the heads twice on my K5. First time my dad showed me, second time I just did it. Good luck! This might be a good time to upgrade your heads and intake if you are interested while you have it all out:)

3. POWERMAD

POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

I believe book time is 8 hrs to do head gasgets.

8 hrs X shop rate which can be anywhere from $45 to $60 an hr
    Parts.. a head gasget kit is generaly $50 or so to anyone walking into the local parts house.
    At a shop the mark up will be at least 100% on parts.
    Most will not let ya bring in yer own parts, if they do they generaly won't warranty anything other than a repair issue.

I consider a head gasget job as a no brainer, but if ya are not familiar with a rig I would not start with that as an introduction if ya are going to try to do it on yer own.

If ya have to take it to a shop and ya know it is at least a head gasget find out what the labor rate is and how many hrs they are charging to do it,