Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Any linux users?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by hunterguy86, May 19, 2006.

  1. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I recently deleted windows from a spare computer and installed Ubuntu Breezy 5.10. So far its been awesome. It found all of my devices so far except for my wireless PCI card. I think I got that problem figured out however.
    Anybody else using a version of linux?
     
  2. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    You got pcmcia_cs and hotplug? Did you build the module for the card?
     
  3. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,011
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    Running Slackware 10.2 with the 2.6.16 Kernel right now. Just got my Aaltonen driver for my IBM built into a module.... Kismet is a bitch to get running with my card...lol..:eek1::eek1:
     
  4. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I cant find the right driver for the card. I am using a Belkin wireless PCI card, part number F5D7000, version 6000. Ive seen drivers all the way up to 5000 but not for mine. All the cards i have seen have broadcom chipsets but mine seems to have a RaLink chipset.

    I have determined this by running the commands lspci -v.

    Any idea where I could find the driver I need.

    To install I will be using ndiswrapper.
     
  5. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,011
    Likes Received:
    841
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI
    You sure it has the RaLink chipset, and not the Realtek 8139 chipset. Realtek has the driver, or someone has made a driver you just have to tweak it for your system. I have had good luck with the 8139 series, if your card isn't that chipset go to a REAL computer store, not best buy or circuit city and pick one up for arround 30 bucks :thumb: thats what I suggest.
     
  6. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    I've been using Xandros 3.0 for a year and a half and love it!
     

Share This Page