Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Any Tiling guys wanna share some advice?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by newyorkin, Nov 8, 2004.

1. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

Can you use greenboard as a tile backer board? It's for a tub surround, all three walls will be like 6x5 tile. The long wall and the wet wall have cementboard as a backer, but I'd rather not add another half inch (as in cementboard) to that last wall.
    I'd read that greenboard is designed to be capable tile backer, but I dunno if that qualifies in such a damp location /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif.

Whatta y'all think?

2. Ruthven13

Ruthven13 1/2 ton status

Re: Amy Tiling guys wanna share some advice?

I have been doing that kind of work for the last 9 years. We usually run the cement board about 5' up from the tub all around and then the greenboard the rest of the way. If it was mine, I would do the wonderboard all the way up. Not necessary, but gives me better piece of mind. But I would definately use it up to the height of the showerhead.

3. outlaw612

outlaw612 1/2 ton status

I would say definately no on the greenboard as backerboard. It more moisture resistant but not intended for use in the shower. Just takes 1 leak and that stuff will fall apart about like regular gypsum.

Ive used Durarok (cement board) and they also have a fiberboard thats only about 1/4 or 5/16" thick thats good stuff. I know that Lowes sells the stuff, but Im not sure what its called.

4. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status