Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Any Volunteer or full time....................

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by conoverbandit, Jun 13, 2004.

1. conoverbandit

conoverbandit 1/2 ton status

Fireman on the board? I had some questions about firefighting in general and just wanted to know if we have any.I have applied at my local station under volunteer status, they haven't told me anything yet, still waiting.
    I have no firefighting experience other than the annual "extingusher" training at the shop. (yea I know /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif)I'm kinda "bored" with life and want to do something to help my community, and be able to look back in later years and say I did something important. It's something I've pretty much always wanted to try and do, but have always been so busy I've never had "the time" to volunteer in that way.But hopefully in the near future, the wife will be employed-she is almost graduated EMT-b, has alreay applied for Paramedic classes.When she get's a job, I can quit my second job and have more time to do this.Just wonder what it's like? is it a adrenalin rush thing? or something like that? We don't have any great big buildings here in town(3-4 stories max) I think, the fact I don't really like heights is going to play potential problem for me, but I hope it's one of the "fears" I can handle and defeat. Anywho, just kinda want to know what it's like to roll up on a structural fire and go inside.... or vehicle.Thanks,

2. k20

k20 3/4 ton status

i dont have any answers for you, but in case a vol fireman pipes up, heres something i been wondering, what traffic laws (speed redlights etc) do vol fire have to obey? Ive had em come flashin by me at 90 in a 45 and then seen others putting along by themselves at 45 in a 45.

3. conoverbandit