Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anybody know how to set an FTP server up?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by zcarczar, Oct 23, 2002.

  1. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Title says it all /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. ChevyHuny

    ChevyHuny 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    What are you using. Cute FTP? Or one from your webpage maker?
     
  3. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Im not trying to access an FTP server. I got that part down, I'm trying to host my own server from my computer so my freinds can download stuff from me. But thanks anyway /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  4. ChevyHuny

    ChevyHuny 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Posts:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Oooh, I'm sorry. That is interesting though. Wouldn't mind knowing that too. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  5. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    I know how. Will you be using Linux or Windows? If windows, you'll want 2000. You dont need pro either. That standard flavor will work. Here are some notes:

    - You will have to enable IIS services.

    - You will get attacked by script kiddies when they find you. Run the windows security updates all the time.

    - Dont leave it as annonomous. Set your friends up with passwords or somebody else is bound to fill it up with porn or something. Mine got hacked and they filled it up with movies.

    - Use a spare PC. You will get hacked.

    - You will get hacked.

    Let me know if you need more nuts and bolts.
     
  6. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    I'd just like to add:

    - you will get hacked.
     
  7. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Ok, I have a spare comp. running Win 2K. Where would I go to set up IIS? One other thing too, I'm running a linksys router, and whenever someone types in my IP address they will get the router cofiguration screeen asking for a password. Can i bypass this?
     
  8. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Access your router and there should be something along the lines of remote or outside management that you want to turn off. Having it on is bad.

    You can enable IIS services in the control panel. go to add remove programs and click on Add/remove windows components (or something like that). This is where you can add more screensavers or games and stuff. One of the options should be IIS services. Once that is on type in "FTP Server" in the built in Windows help. There is a lot of info in the help files. You will also have to open up a port in your router and point it at your ftp server. I believe that it is port 21. Good luck.
     
  9. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    It is port 21. I have a small office client with likely the same router. I think the Linksys config page has the common ports listed in a sidebar. You'll need to set the FTP machine to a static IP outside the range of your router's DHCP scope (if it starts dhcp addresses at 192.168.0.100, set the ftp box at 192.168.0.99). Then, in the port redirection or port mapping page of your router, specify incoming tcp and udp port 21 traffic to be redirected to 192.168.0.99.

    IIS:
    Configuring IIS itself is pretty painless, but like Sandman said, definately read the help files if you're new to it. To get to the config, go to start->administrative tools->Internet Services Manager. Expand the folders and right click-> properties to get to the actual config pages. The security tab of the FTP server properties is where you want to remove the allow anon access.

    Security:
    This is where it starts to get complex. Right click "My Computer" and go to manage, then users and groups, and create 2 or 3 user accounts with fairly complicated passwords.
    Host the home folder of the FTP server on an NTFS drive. If all your drives are Fat32, use "convert" at the command line to convert a drive to NTFS. Under the security tab of the folder properties, remove the "everyone" group and replace it with only the specified accounts you created above to allow your friends to use.

    Install SP3, then run windows update and download/install ALL the security patches listed. I believe there's also an IIS security pack that's not included in windows update or SP3, but I'm strapped for anymore details on it right now.


    Good luck, and don't post your credit card numbers on it!!
     
  10. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    Ok, I got the server up, but I cant access it from outside of my network. Say i dial up AOL, and disable my LAN connection on the computer and try to connect to the computer running the FTP server all I get is a connection timed out error. Is it AOL? Or did I mess something up? I thought it was the firewall, so I quit that. I set up my router so it forwards all port 21 requests to that IP addess and I made sure and set the computer running the server to static IP. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

    Also, how do I share files? I thought i set it up so that I could, but it doesnt show any of the folders when I log onto the computer via FTP. If someone is interested in trying it out for me PM me and I will set you up with a login.
     
  11. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Rather than that, run Bulletproof Ftp-server or WAR FTP Server.
    Use a nonstandard port, like 27515 (commonly used for online gaming so your ISP won't worry too much about a lot of traffic.) Don't use the default 21.
    Disable guest accounts and anonymous logins.
    Set up an account for each friend you will allow to access your computer. That way if one leaks, you know who did it.

    It's not very hard to do.
    -- Mike
     

Share This Page