Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

anyone have holley stealth ram?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddybuddy, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    was wondering if anybody has had any experience with the holley stealth ram mpfi. i might be able to get one off a new crate motor from a friend (he wants to keep it carb). i know id need to get a computer chip of some sorts:doah:, what else would i need? any idea whta kind of gains id see, compared to the current stock 350tbi?
     
  2. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    nobody runs one or knows anythin bout 'em?
     
  3. resurrected_jimmy

    resurrected_jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    back home in Houston
    I wouldn't swap a good running tbi for an aftermarket efi system unless it were absolutely necessary to keep up with engine mods..... just my .02
     
  4. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    You'll be lucky if you find maybe 1 or 2 in here using it.. And even then I bet they're just folk who stop in occasionally...

    I don't know much about the system, seen it, looks nice, but thats at a glance...
     
  5. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    so i guess more of a car setup?
     
  6. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Steath ram IIRC is a high-rpm setup. Not for us torquers.
     
  7. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    ill have to research it more, i was jus askin cuz hes more than likely goin to get the motor and its brand new and he wants to keep it carb, so id have first dibs.
     
  8. jolane

    jolane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a stealth ram setup with a wide band O2 controller. The Stealth ram kit I got came complete with everything including ECU, pump, injectors, etc. It is a nice looking setup, and will also control ignition timing through an MSD small cap HEI.
    I wish I could give you more info, but mine is going on my V8 Z-car conversion, which is not done yet. So, it is still in the box, only removed for mock-up. For the money, you could probably do something better suited for a truck cheaper. The stealth ram is not inexpensive, especially with the wide band.
    Joshua
     
  9. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    well ill see how much hes gonna ask for it and then see if its worth the trouble:)
     

Share This Page