Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anyone have pics of a guage cluster?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Rebel88, Aug 15, 2001.

  1. Rebel88

    Rebel88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Posts:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I am planning on redoing my guage cluster with all aftermarket guages...anyone done this? Got any pics?

    Thanks

    Later

    Have you driven OVER a Ford lately?
     
  2. ironmikek5

    ironmikek5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 31, 2001
    Posts:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Check out the member's gallery, someone had a cluster of all VDO guages, it looked pretty good. Somebody else replaced all the guages with Autometer, and had pics of the setup. Do a search for 'guages' or 'bezel', and you should find it.

    <font color=red>"Oil? That's not my oil...that was there before" </font color=red>[​IMG]
     
  3. Predator

    Predator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC,OK
    I have pics of my Autogauge 2-5/8" mechanical gauges at this link: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/xci10u2/bint.html>http://www.geocities.com/xci10u2/bint.html</a>. I cut the clear plastic lense part off to the left of the speedo, then cut out all the gauge surround of the bezel for each gauge and dropped the gauges in. The gauges have a slight downward tilt when mounted this way, but it turned out ok. I like these A LOT better than those factory gauges.
     
  4. Kyle89K5

    Kyle89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA
    solowookie has got VDO guages in one of his blazers. Got some good pics of it too. go to the members section and check em out.

    Kyle
    89K5
     
  5. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    hey check out the link under my signature, and you'll find a VDO gauge cluster...

    If you like it I'll print a parts list for you...

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Not to be nosy [​IMG] but what can I expect to pay for the gauge package you bought................? Going to do this someday and am weighing this against the Dakota Digital set for apx $500+/-.

    TIA

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com>www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  7. Cusm

    Cusm 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2000
    Posts:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OK
    DIBBS! DIBBS! DIBBS!!!
    I want your factory tach if you go for the Dakota or VDO.

    Good lord. The rod up that man's butt must have a rod up it's butt.
     
  8. Sparky87k5

    Sparky87k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynden, Washington, 4 miles from Canada
    I've done this with Autometer gauges.
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.fototime.com/6087D9D0348A9D2/standard.jpg>http://www.fototime.com/6087D9D0348A9D2/standard.jpg</a>
    Have never regrettted the work involved. Cost about $400 and 8 hours labor.

    87 K5, D60 & 14FF, 5 sp & NP208 & 383 stroker. Build it Bulletproof and take it fishing!
     
  9. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    you'd be looking around 400 bucks... somebody here gave me the information for barnetts (I think that is the company) anyway they were priced out a LOT cheaper!

    I'm going to be using a solid peice of brushed allum. and doing smaller large gauges in Jedi Mind Trick so I can add in a tranny temp gauge (if you go 3 3/8" large gauges you save some $$$)...

    and by the way, I've never know you to be nosey!!! LOL

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  10. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Bill, that is awesome. Two ?? ..............is that a 2" cowl induction hood I spy? And what is the potentiometer I spy to the left of your headlight switch?

    Thanks.............

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com>www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com</a>
     
  11. Kyle89K5

    Kyle89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA
    I'll lay a $1 bet that that little knob is for an adjustable MSD timing control setup.

    DO I WIN?!?!?!?!

    Kyle
    89K5
     

Share This Page