Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anyone here married to a tax person?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BranndonC, Aug 31, 2006.

1. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

I want to know what I should do with my money for tax reasons and where I'll be taxed the least.
    Heres the situation. I'm a realtor now. I get paid straight from the sale, so I am technicaly self employed. I have a Corporation in my name. Should I have all the money go into the corp account, then pay myself via a paycheck company from that? Aren't I paying taxes twice that way?

2. gjk5

gjk5 3/4 ton status

You can do that, my suggestion is to put all of the money in a corporate account, pay all expenses that you can justify as company related (car, gas, advertising, meals, dues, fees etc) and then salary yourself ffrom the remainder or, even better; take a corporate disbursment of profits as an officer which you do not have to pay fica or payroll taxes on.

BTW: DO NOT hire a payroll company for yourself, just go buy quickbooks and order printable checks and do it yourself, it's a breeze.

You're welcome to PM me with any questions, I've owned my own small corp. for 6 years (mortgage and recently real estate and development) and never been audited or had tax problems.

3. BranndonC

BranndonC 3/4 ton status

I will have my wife working with me... and we will be hiring people also. I already have a payroll company that I've been working with for a long time, but the past year or so they haven't had to do anything because we didn't make anything! lol but I'm not getting taxed twice this way?
    ok, say I get 1,000 paid into my account via a sale.

do I have to get taxed 20% on that, then pay myself out of that, and then get taxed 30% on what I paid my self?

4. Skigirl

Skigirl 1/2 ton status