Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

anyone installed a car alarm before?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by TheBlazerKid, May 14, 2000.

1. TheBlazerKid

TheBlazerKid 1/2 ton status

I am considering buying a car(blazer) alarm and I wanted to know what is involved to install one, any input on which one is good and so on will be helpful

thanx in advance.

Your right I dont understand the jeep thing!?

2. Eagle86K5

Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

They are pretty easy to hook up, if you need help just ask...

<font color=green>[​IMG]Eagle86K5[​IMG]<font color=red>
    Masonry...It's a Good Thing
    2B1ASK1

3. '73 K5

'73 K5 1/2 ton status

I work as a car stereo installer for a living. The shop I'm at does stereos and alarms. From past experience, I think there are a few reasons you should not attempt to do this yourself. A Blazer is one of the more simple cars to do an alarm in, but its still an alarm. Do you have a way of getting a wiring diagram to find out with wire is the starter wire, batt, etc. Do you have a test light and a good soldering gun? Do you know how to wire a relay and the difference between a postive or negative trigger alarm? I'm not trying to scare you off, but I just wanted to warn you. If you've done some car electrical work in the past, you might want to try it...like I said an old Blazer is a good "first alarm" car.
    One more thing. The alarm manufacturers don't want people installing their own alarms either. Every shop in my town sells their alarms at a price with installation included. And for all the alarms I've put in, it will void your warrenty unless a certified shop does the work...Black Widow, Alpine, Clifford, Ungo, etc.

'73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad

4. 82K5

82K5 1/2 ton status