Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anyone installed MSD?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by spincast375, Aug 4, 2005.

1. spincast375

spincast375 1/2 ton status

We're looking at investing in the MSD ignition system on the 454. Has anyone done this? Was it easy to install? Was the increase in performance worth the investment? Is it reliable long-term? Thanks.

2. mouse

mouse 1/2 ton status

I ran a MSD system on a drag car. Fairly easy to hook up (I used to be an aircraft electrician) and worked great on a high compression race engine. My blazer I run a near stock HEI though. An accel distributor with a stock coil has more than enough power and is very reliable. A MSD would be nice but would do next to nothing for my engine set up - slightly higher than stock compression, slightly bigger cam. I built for reliability and ease of finding repair parts - i.e. in the middle of no where.

3. rgood81

rgood81 Registered Member

Msd

Yes the msd is an easy install. Only took me about 2 hours, and I hate wires. As far as performance, I wouldn't really say it was that noticeable for me, but it's definitly an improvement. The best part for me was the rev limiter. I can't really say anything about reliability exept for what I've heard, only had it about 2 months. I can tell you not to go with mallory. I installed one in my truck, becuase a friend of mine had one laying around still wrapped in the plastic. I figured why not. Well it lasted all of 2 weeks. I pulled the side cover off and found loose parts just laying in the bottom of it. MSD definitly the way to go

4. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

IMO. Not worth it. Just more wires and one more thing to break when on the trail. For a marginal at best performance gain.

5. rdn2blazer