Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

anyone know what this is

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by general blaze, Dec 13, 2006.

1. general blaze

general blaze 1/2 ton status

alright what is the part called that replaces the distrubuter on a gas motor called in a diesel motor. i am leaking oil out of the side of this unit. does it need to be replaced or can i overhaul the existing one.

also how had is it to pull the oil pan on the 6.2 i am also leaking oil from the front of that.

thanks for all your help..

2. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

would it be the oil pump drive?
    or maybe the injector pump?

im a diesel noob...

3. Mr.Chevy4x4

Mr.Chevy4x4 1/2 ton status

That would be the vacuum pump. The pan is no problem to drop on 4x4's, but if it is a 2wd it's a whole different story.

Mike

4. 79Beast

79Beast 1/2 ton status

I agree that it's the vacuum pump, but I don't know what all this talk is about dropping the "pan". The vacuum pump goes in and out in minutes...no oil pan dropping required.

5. general blaze

i also have a leak at the front of the oil pan. that is why i brought that up. why does the vaccuum pump leak oil on the left hand side of the unit? do i need a new pump or can i just pull this one out and fix it? do i need to mark it when i pull it out as i would with a gas engine distributor? sorry for all the questions but i am trying to get this fixed asap..

thanks guys for all the info.

6. colbystephens

colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner