Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

anyone run a fiberglass hood?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jekbrown, May 9, 2002.

1. jekbrown

jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

I have been looking around the net for fiberglass hoods. figure it'd be an easy way to save some weight. One site I found....

http://www.hannemannfiberglass.com/page2.html

has 'em for $225 for my '85. As you can see on the site, it says these are attached via pins. I am a noob to hood pins... how exactly do they work and are they 100% street legal? It'd be cool to not only save weight... but to be able to pop the hood off entirely to work on engine stuff. Its not like the hood gets hit by rocks or anything, so it'd really be no big deal that it was fiberglass and not steel. I would think that there would be substantial weight loss... the factory hood + hinge system must be purdy heavy.

Anyone runnin' a fiberglass hood? Anyone ordered from Hannemann before? info appreciated!

J

2. UNCLE CRACKER

UNCLE CRACKER 1/2 ton status

I have a cowl induction hood on mine that is fiberglass. check U.S boby sorce thats where I got mine.

3. jekbrown

yeah, i checked out US Body... they are sorta spendy, and all i can find on their site is hoods with cowls and stuff on 'em... I'd like to have the best view over the hood I can get.

Does your hood use the factory mounting hardware or hood pins?

J

4. Joe T

Joe T Registered Member

Had a glass hood on my '74. I liked the access it gave me when it was time to work on it. Only took me a few times to figure out the best way to get it off by myself. Had 5 pins.

5. ChevBlazin

ChevBlazin 1/2 ton status