Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anyone use Hypertech before?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BLzr4x4ngkid, Feb 11, 2001.

  1. BLzr4x4ngkid

    BLzr4x4ngkid 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Once again, I was in 4WOR and saw that Hypertech can make a chip for a TBI. All you have to do is tell them what things you have changed from the stock configuration. They said that Hypertech can build a chip that will accomadate headers, cam, etc. I was wondering if anyone has bought anything from them before or had them build you a chip?

    "Don't hit me with them negative waves so early in the morning." Odd Ball--Kelly's Hereos
     
  2. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I'm not sure about the ones they make for you, but I know with the other chips you have to run 93 octane gas to get them to work. I thought about getting one, but I scratched that idea when I found out that you had to use the 93 gas.

    Dawson
    88 K5
     
  3. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I have a Hypertech Thermomaster chip on mine. Unfortunately it was on my truck when i bought it so I can't tell you if it helped any. I think its supposed to let you use a 160 degree thermostat, but I don't know if it does anything else.

    90K5

    See my truck at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://albums.photopoint.com/j/Albumindex?u=1329584&a=9886502>http://albums.photopoint.com/j/Albumindex?u=1329584&a=9886502</A>
     
  4. AJMBLAZER

    AJMBLAZER Better to be lucky than good. Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2000
    Posts:
    22,791
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Paducah, KY
    Check out the chips at <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.fastchip.com>http://www.fastchip.com</A>. They make one for my truck, so they should have some for yours. I like that they talk about their chips working throught the entire power band, and you don't have to run premium with them.

    1992 Blazer Sport, 350 TBI, 4L60, 3" Flowmaster, K&N, 3" Rancho, 285/75R16 on 16x8 Baja's[​IMG]
     

Share This Page