Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anyone used this Np241 clocking ring?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by afroman006, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. afroman006

    afroman006 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station & Kingsville, Texas
    Clocking Ring
    This is made by the same guy that does the crazy beefy diff covers and it looks great to me but I was wondering if anyone had any personal experience with it. Thx
     
  2. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I know he makes good diff covers and he stands by them, I would assume he is a good guy since he has a good rating on ebay, I might just by one today, he is cheaper than what I have found /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I had the ring from DP90_k5 and that ring seems to be the same thing. The one I had was great. I sold it cause I am going to a driver side pumpkin and it would clock a driver side Tcase down instead of up.
     
  4. 91GMCSuburban

    91GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    What's required to do this install?
     
  5. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    just a clocking ring and grinding the front shaft
     
  6. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    ow and you have to adjust the shift linkage
     
  7. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    at full clock you have to dimple the floorboards a bit but thats simple.
     
  8. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    at full clock you have to dimple the floorboards a bit but thats simple.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    even with an 1" body lift?
     
  9. afroman006

    afroman006 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station & Kingsville, Texas
    I have a 3" body lift. When I clock it all the way up, I assume I wont have any body clearance issues. When you say modify the shifter, what do you mean? The little indicator looks kinda funny now that I put the body lift on but other than that its ok. I assume I'm going to need the front driveshaft lengthened because I'm running 6" lift, and plan on having it rotated all the way up. I have a stock length shaft w/ a 1" spacer on the t-case flange now.
     
  10. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    you will likely need a longer shaft. As for the adjustment of the shifter, you need to adjust it for the rotation. Same thing you should have done with the body lift. Look at the linkage, there is adjustment in it, thats why your shift pattern is a little off. If its bad enough it could cause you to skip out of say 4 lo or high when offroad. 1" body lift ,I know on a Suburban you don't need to dimple the floor when you have that.
     
  11. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I have a 2" body lift on mine. I clocked mine all the way up AND raised the entire drivtrain up abou another inch and half. I had to actually cut the floorboards because there was no way of "dimpling" them to make it fit. BUt now I have a flat belly with a skid plate from frame rail to frame rail. /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
    [​IMG]
    Here are some more pics.
     
  12. 91GMCSuburban

    91GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    grinding the front shaft?
     
  13. afroman006

    afroman006 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    College Station & Kingsville, Texas
    Good god what size plate did you use? That looks like 3/16. Must be one heavy pig huh?
     
  14. DPI

    DPI 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Posts:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In the Burbs close to Tulsa, OK
    You can grind the stops in the CV on the front shaft. It will give you a little more angle, but not much.

    Esteban86K5 how much lift do you run?
     
  15. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Good god what size plate did you use? That looks like 3/16. Must be one heavy pig huh?

    [/ QUOTE ]
    It's 1/4 inch and it's not horrible heavy.

    [ QUOTE ]
    You can grind the stops in the CV on the front shaft. It will give you a little more angle, but not much.

    Esteban86K5 how much lift do you run?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I ground the stops on mine and extended it a couple of inches and it has worked for me so far.

    And I run 4" suspension with a zero rate in the back and 2" body lift.
     
  16. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Esteban, how was you pinion angles front and back?
     
  17. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I have a shim in the front that puts my front pinion angle within a workable range. And in the rear I had already relocated my spring perches so the rear axle was already rotated for the better pinion anlge. After I raised the drivtrain up I left it the same and it hasn't given me a problem yet. I'm sure it's a little off but not enough for me to worry about on a rig that doesn't see much street driving.
     
  18. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    thanks. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  19. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    That flat belly is soooooooooo sexy. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    And tell the truth, you have High Angle Drivelines, that's how you can get away with this.

    guys, if you do this, WATCH YOUR ANGLEs, especially on that front driveline!
     
  20. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    That flat belly is soooooooooo sexy. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    And tell the truth, you have High Angle Drivelines, that's how you can get away with this.



    [/ QUOTE ]

    That is VERY true. I forgot all about that. I do have HAD driveline in the rear. /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif
     

Share This Page