Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Anyone using an Edelbrock or Holley Carb with a 700R4?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 83ZZ502_Jimmy, Mar 7, 2004.

  1. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    As the title asks, does anyone? If so can you explain how you hooked up the kickdown cable for the tranny? Any special parts or whatnot?

    If possible, a picture would be extremely helpful /forums/images/graemlins/bow.gif

    Thanks,
    John
     
  2. Okiemuddog

    Okiemuddog 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guthrie, Oklahoma
    [​IMG] /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Did you have to buy an additional bracket to mount the TV cable end to the E-brock carb, or did it line/bolt right up?

    Thanks,
    John
     
  4. K1Orion

    K1Orion 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    812
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    st.louis,MO
    [​IMG]

    That is a pic from Summit, TCI bracket for a 700,$24.88.

    You will need a stud on the linkage for the TV cable, I think a new Edelbrock carb come s witha couple studs in the box, if not parts places have em. No extra linkagee is needed but if you really wanna fine tune th cable, check out Bowtie Overdrive and their new-fangled adjustable setup.
     
  5. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    you can do it that way, or call up bowtie overdrives and have them send you there TV made EZ kit for about $100 you can check it out on there website and in my opinion its worth the $$$ also you will probably wanna check your pressure numbers after doing either one /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    When I had a 700R4, I used the stock throttle bracket and the little tit that the T/V cable fit over came with my Edelbrock carb so it didn't require any mods at all for me.
     
  7. Okiemuddog

    Okiemuddog 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Posts:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guthrie, Oklahoma
    I am using the stock bracket, only one hole will line up due to my carb adapter, but it stays put with out any problem.
     
  8. blasterD

    blasterD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Posts:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    I used the stock TV bracket and I bought the little nipple at the local Checker Auto Parts. Everything went together and worked fine.
     

Share This Page