Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ARB electric solenoid and blowing fuses???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by yunit, May 24, 2004.

  1. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    Well, I had the truck out yesterday for the first time in almost two years and everything ran great all day. When everyone talked me into hit this trail called Crawler Ridge at Rausch Creek Offroad Park, I blew two fuses for the ARB switch. The truck was almost at about a 75 or better degree angle heading up the rocks when this happened. Has anyone else blow fuses while climbing large obstacles?

    Also, the steering pump does not seem to like being at that angle either, it was getting a little hard to steer the truck at that angle.
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    do you have a remote res for the pump? I forget. If you don't I would think at that angle the air thats normally at the top of the pump gets down in there and airates the fluid.
     
  3. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Never had an issue with the solenoid blowing fuses.
    What amp fuses is it blowing? Try a bigger one?
     
  4. miniwally

    miniwally 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado
    Your ARB should be on its own circut. No other Acc. etc. running on that circut.

    Fluid level/ Remote res? Do you have hydro assist?
     
  5. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    Yeah, the ARB is on it's own circuit, but goes through the fuse panel. Just going to run a directline with a fuse to the battery since it the battery is behind my seat now, hopefuly that cures the problem.

    I am running hydro assist and hydro boost, going to hookup a second pump to run just the brakes.

    Anyone have any suggestions for a remote res?
     

Share This Page