Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Arc welder?

Discussion in 'The Tool Shed' started by littlejimmythatcould, Apr 13, 2006.

1. littlejimmythatcould

littlejimmythatcould 1/2 ton status

I found a arc welder for sale for $300. It's a Miller and he says it has just been rebuilt from the local Miller dealer. He also says that it will blow through 1/4 inch steel very easily, so that leads me to believe that it will serve as a good welder for my needs. He does off roading too and has used it on his jeep:ignore: . I will need it for future projects on my truck but is arc welding commonly used? I am new to welding, I have done a few practice plates at a buddy's house with a mig welder but nothing too big. Will it be easy to learn arc welding? Any comments or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Todd

2. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

Eh...

Its probably a decent welder,but the price is a bit high,considering you can buy a brand new Lincoln 225 Amp AC Arc welder for about 250 bucks at Home Depot..older ones are better for heavy duty continious use,they had copper windings in the transformer..newer ones use aluminum..but are fine for the home hobbyist welder who seldom uses it more than a few hours a month..

An arc welder is great for welding frames,heavy metal on plows,etc..but its a tricky thing to use on thinner stock...I used mine to make holes for bolts on anything 1/4" or less,they excel in blowing holes in metal!..an AC welder is cheaper than one that has AC and DC...DC(direct currect) is a bit easier to do than AC is,and you can reverse the polarity,for better welds on thinner metals..they cost about 100 bucks more than an AC only one..