Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Arizona/new to K5/looking to buy a K5

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Arizcowboy, Feb 1, 2007.

1. Arizcowboy

Arizcowboy Registered Member

Hey all, I am new to the ColoradoK5 site and just signed up. I am looking to get into a 73-81 or so K5 or GMC Jimmy and thought I would jump into the site here for some suggestions from yall.

I currently own a 1981 GMC K3500 crew cab 4x4. It has a 454 motor with a SM465/NP205 and Dana 60/GM 14bFF 4.56 gears. 6" Tuff Country lift. 35x12.50x16.5 BFG A/T tires. I love this truck! While I do off road it a bit, it is more for my business use and I dont really want to bang it up! So, I am searching for a 4x4 I can have some more fun with! Looking in the 73-81 range. I like this body style and the availability of parts and great aftermarket support. I dont want anything newer. I prefer a short bed truck or a K5/Jimmy. I am leaning toward a full size blazer mostly. I think the K5/Jimmys have a slightly shorter wheelbase yet than a short bed truck. ???

Now, in regards to a K5 or a GMC Jimmy full size... what am I looking for? I need this vehicle for a daily driver. So want something that can be set up for road use with highway friendly gearing. I also want something that I can take for some 'semi serious' off roading. With all that said... what would be the perfect K5/Jimmy to seek out? Now, I know I probably will not find that perfect Blazer and I will have to add some stuff after a purchase... but if I have a choice of blazers, I want to make the right choice.