Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ATF as a fuel additive???

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by u2slow, Oct 29, 2002.

1. u2slow

u2slow 1/2 ton status

I ran into a guy that has a 7.3L NA in his F350. Seems to be fairly knowledgable with diesels. Runs the Stanadyne additive, has a Racor filter, coolant additive, etc, etc...

He says he puts a quart of ATF in with a full tank of fuel every so often to clean out the engine /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

I've heard of doing this on a gasser to make it run real hot and burn out any carbon build-up - but on a diesel?!

2. DieselDan

DieselDan 1/2 ton status

I'm not an expert, but I heard the ATF is sometimes added to a gain some lubrication lost on low sulfur diesel. Could pose a problem if the DOT were to sample your now <font color="red"> red </font color> (untaxed) fuel.
    Whether ATF works is speculation, but I think the Standyne fuel additive would be the only thing that you'ld want/need. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

3. Dirty Dave

Dirty Dave 1/2 ton status

I have heard of ATF being used as a additive as well. I seem to recall that either Ford or Dodge even recommended it. The true downside, as Dan pointed out, is that ATF treated diesel is that it looks alot like non-taxed fuel. The fine for running non-tax fuel varies from state to state but a 100 dollar a gallon fine would not be a shock.

I would stick with Stanadyne or Power Service.

4. Muley

Muley 1/2 ton status

I do not know what other states do, but how they going to catch you? two ways from what I see it.
    1. They dip the tank when you run it through emissions (common pratice in UT)
    2. The see ya at the fill station putting the red dye in your truck.

There are ways around both depending on if you want to deal with it.