Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Attention Tranny Techs!!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ron_mac01, Feb 12, 2006.

  1. ron_mac01

    ron_mac01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL,GA
    I have a th350 tranny with dual bolt patterns i want to know if a regular th350(just chevy) torque convertor will work because it locks in(three clicks) but it has space were I can put my hand behind it. Plus do I have to get a specific convertor.
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    The only difference I am aware of is between a lockup transmission (TH350C) and non-lockup. The lockup one has a little tit on the tip of the input shaft that won't allow a non-lockup converter to seat fully.
     
  3. ron_mac01

    ron_mac01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL,GA
    So would a regular 700r4 convertor fit the th350c
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I haven't been paying attention to 700R4 stuff for quite some time, but on the 700 I know they changed the converter spline count fairly early on, so if some year 700's converters fit a 350 (I believe they did) it wouldn't be all of them in any case.

    Doesn't clear up your question really, but you have to know what tranny you've got, (TH350C or TH350) and we'd need to know what converter you are trying to use, lockup or not.
     
  5. ron_mac01

    ron_mac01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL,GA
    its a th350c like u said with a tit on the end of the input shaft.
     
  6. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    a 700r4 converter will not fit, the hub that goes into the pump is bigger than a th350.

    you can't run a non lockup converter on the th350c, as he said, the end has a tit with an oring and a ball in the end. you need to find a th350c converter. shouldn't matter between single pattern or a dual pattern case.
     

Share This Page