Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...URGENT QUESTION

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84gmcjimmy, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Okay, I just FINALLY got my millermatic 135 hooked up today. Tomorrow I'm going to get practicing my beads, but I have come across a problem, how much do I open the gas tank on it? Slowly then all the way open, or what? I have 75% Argon, and 25% C02 mixture.(the two is the subscript) Thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    READ POST AT BOTTOM
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    open it all the way and set the regulator to 15 to 20, make sure you turn the tank off when you are done.
     
  3. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    [ QUOTE ]
    open it all the way and set the regulator to 15 to 20, make sure you turn the tank off when you are done.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Okay, 'scuse my stupidity, but how do I set the regulator to that? And how do I know when I've set it up. I'd get my dad to help but he is really sick...
     
  4. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,140
    Likes Received:
    565
    Location:
    Iowa
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Turn the screw on the regulator. You might first have to lossen the jam nut. Little different then most regulators.
     
  5. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    [ QUOTE ]
    Turn the screw on the regulator. You might first have to lossen the jam nut. Little different then most regulators.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Okay thanks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    The proper name is actually a flow meter, and I was told to set it at 30 and more if you are welding outdoors or maybe less if welding indoors with no wind.
     
  7. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    i had to tack weld something outside the other day and a little breeze, and the weld had a lot or porosity, that was on 25 /forums/images/graemlins/yikes.gif
     
  8. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,178
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Flow meter is correct and 25-35 CFH (cubic feet per hour) is an acceptable range. The adjuster for the flow rate should be on the underside of the flow meter. Most flow meters have a couple of different scales depending on the gas being used and it's density. Make sure you're reading the scale for CO2...

    Rene
     
  9. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Okay, I went out and set it to 25, then when I tried to get a little closer to 30, it let out a high pitch scream, what would that be? And also when I open the bottle at, does it matter the PSI? Or am I supposed to adjust that too? Thanks /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  10. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Also, is it dangerous if I weld on some rusty parts of a chunk of metal? I dont have a grinder handy so I sanded a bunch of it off, but there is still some there, will it be bad to weld over it? Thanks
     
  11. unclematty

    unclematty 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLC UT
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    the gas part of that hting is going to cause you nothing but grief. i did myself a favor andbought some of that fluxcore wire it works great, with no gas /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif /forums/images/graemlins/hack.gif /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif /forums/images/graemlins/weld.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grind.gif
     
  12. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Yeah I might buy some of that stuff for using outside, but its like 3 times more than the regular stuff where I get it /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif
     
  13. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Be cautious of the fluxcore wire. I believe you have to change the liner before using the fluxcore wire then swap back when using regular wire. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    I have never had any luck with the fluxcore wire but thats just my experience.
     
  14. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Wow. Really? Why do you have to change the liner... that could be a problem /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif
     
  15. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    If using regular wire after using the fluxcore wire the regular wire will want to hang up on you because the fluxcore wire leaves a residue behind.
     
  16. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    Oh darn. Thats no good. /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif
     
  17. jimmy88

    jimmy88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Posts:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit, MI area
    Re: ATTN: Millermatic MIG welder owners...

    My little Miller says to change polarity when switching to flux core wire. Using gas I found the metal has to be really clean for any kind of good bead. Any rust or paint and it sucks. If you are just starting out do yourself a favor and get some clean metal to practice and learn on.
     
  18. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Okay,Ill scrounge for some cleaner metal. Thanks for the tips /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  19. lukebaby1

    lukebaby1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, Virginia
    Ok first, you do not have to change the liner to run flux core. If you look at the inside of the flip up cover (where you put the wire on) it should have a decal showing the proper polarity for the type of wire you are running. .025-.035 wire should be used, just make sure you have the same size contact tip screwed in to the torch head that matches the wire you are using. If you are going to use sheilding gas, and you are welding outside in the breeze, then you will probably have to increase the flow at the regulator to compensate for the draft. I usually set it at about 10cfh and gradually increase to where I need it. Depending on what size bottle you are using, it can get expensive if you are running with more gas than you need. Most little bottles hold about 20-30 cubic feet. So if you run 20-30 cfh(cubic feet per hour), your bottle is only going to last about an hour. Also remember that the Miller 135 has only a 20-30% duty cycle, which means you can only weld 2-3 minutes out of every ten. Exceeding the duty cycle will overheat the rectifier/transformer in the machine and shorten it's useful life. Anytime you weld on rust, or paint, you are going to get weld contamination-flux core or solid. Flux core will probably show you a better weld through rust. Best way is to grind away the rusty areas, exposing the good metal. That way you get a good stong weld to the base metal. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  20. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,178
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    [ QUOTE ]
    Most little bottles hold about 20-30 cubic feet. So if you run 20-30 cfh(cubic feet per hour), your bottle is only going to last about an hour.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Uhhh, the gas in those bottles is so compressed it's become liquid. CO2 is generally about 600 psi in the bottle. If you took all that CO2 out of the bottle until it was empty it'd probably take days at 20-25 CFH. Most Argon mix's are up around 1500 psi or more.

    Rene
     

Share This Page