Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ATTN Welders, please help me with my welds(pics)

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mudrunner78, Jun 16, 2002.

1. mudrunner78

mudrunner78 1/2 ton status

Ok first off I have no welding experience,ok I used a tiny stick welder on some exhaust. But I got one helluva deal on a weld pac 100 today I couldn't pass it up. Brand new with flip helpmet mig conversion gloves and cart for a whoping 250 dollars at my local home depot. How did I get it this cheap lets just say they screwed me on a delivery and the manager offered me this deal so I took it and ran. Well now I have this welder I plan on using flux core for quite a while since I have no shop and I have been told that for what I want to build shockbrakets, bumpers, flat bed, that flux core will work fine. So I am out side after watching the video and reading the manuel 3 times trying a simple butt weld, man this stuff is hard. So I took some pics of my welds and would like some advice. I plan on some major practicing before I build anything. Jesse Oh yeah how do you stop from getting the holes in your welds.
    welds

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Those holes and the general ugliness is typical of the gasless wire. I have a similar welder for body work...trust me mine look not much better than yours and I weld for a living. About the only thing I'd sugest is clean the material really good and when doing a butt weld leave a gap between the plates. 1/16-1/8" should do it. That would be for the thicker stuff like in your (blurry) pic's. for thinner stuff you won't need a gap. Slow down with the travel speed too...a lot of the puddle you're looking at is flux/slag so it's not gonna be as big as it looks as you're welding it.