Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Audio idiot needs help and opinions

Discussion in 'Audio' started by bnc04, Jan 17, 2005.

1. bnc04

bnc04 Guest

Hi all, sorry thus is kinda long but I’m a real rookie on this stuff.

My Goal is to have a decent sounding system in my 88 K5. I plan on doing the following interior changes like installing an overhead console and an overhead storage shelf. While I’m inside and working on things, I want to upgrade the sound system.

Currently I have a Aiwa CT-X409 cassette deck with a remote 6 cd changer running through the FM modulator. I have pioneer 6x9’s in the doors and very old blaupunkt 110w 2 way speakers mounted up high and attached to the hardtop.

I’d like to get a low priced single sub, ( bazooka tube maybe?? ) and a low priced amp to run the tube and the 6x9’s. I will probably relocate the 6x9’s to the back somewhere and get rid of the blaupunkt’s. I then would like to add some speakers to the front probably attached to the storage shelf and pointing downward. What type do I need here? (Tweeter and mid range? )

Is my thinking all wrong? Does this have any chance of sounding decent?

Link to the Aiwa specs

http://shopping.yahoo.com/p:Aiwa%20CT-X409%20Car%20Cassette%20Player:1990294465:page=details;_ylt=AnYBthiIn4sWpFM_eZjt5E7pSHAD;_ylu=X3oDMTBsbXR2ZzdiBF9zAzU3NjkwMzQ1BHNlYwNiZ3NpYg--

School me please.

Thanks

Brett

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2005
  2. Resurrection_Joe

Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

I dunno about those bazooka tubes. You can get a nice fat 12" and box and an amp tp run it at about 400 watts for $200. Name brand stuff too. Pioneer

It's gonna be tough to mount any speakers up high and not have them in the way, unless your really short.