Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

auto to manual hubs what do I need to swap them

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by James90, Nov 8, 2000.

  1. James90

    James90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 18, 2000
    Posts:
    986
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mount NC
    what do I need to convert the stock auto hubs on my 90 to warn manul hubs? and what tools do I need to do it?

    does 80.00 sound good dor warm premeun hub or is it to high?

    thanks

    [​IMG]Go prepared

    I have a Shotgun a Rifle and a 4WD(K5) and Country Boy Can Survive!!!!
     
  2. Todd78/87

    Todd78/87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haines, Ak
    The only special tool you need it the GM Hub socket,,,, Nope,, $80's not to bad for Warn Premiums

    Todd 78/87[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Haines,Alaska
     
  3. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    A dental pick for the big snap ring and lots of patience trying to get it out, other than that, its pretty simple. Just read your directions

    creepin' and crawlin'

    Jim
     
  4. backlash

    backlash 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2000
    Posts:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern, VA.
    Just curious ... Why would you switch from auto to manual? Are they stronger?
     
  5. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Where can u get a hub socket? Yes, the manual ones are stronger.

    Dawson
    88 K5
     
  6. Todd78/87

    Todd78/87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haines, Ak
    Any auto store,, AutoZone, Western Auto, Pep Boys,, Whatever,, they are in the isle with the other 'special' tools.

    Todd 78/87[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Haines,Alaska
     
  7. Russell Keys

    Russell Keys 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Posts:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, TX
    What special hub socket is needed? I'm going to switch from auto to man. hubs on the 83 I bought. I've never personally known about a hub socket for removing the hub. Oh btw has any one used milemarker hubs? They are priced a little better ($50.00-$60.00)and have a lifetime warranty like the warn premiums.-Russell
     
  8. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    Its about a 2 inch socket with four prongs that match up to the spindle nuts. It's been a few years since I swapped mine out but it was pretty simple. The hardest part was getting the snap ring out.(it fits inside the wheel hub and keeps the locking part of the assembly in place)

    creepin' and crawlin'

    Jim
     
  9. DMK

    DMK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CINCINNATI, OH
    Don't need a spindle nut socket to change hubs. Will need a torx socket not sure what number. Stock is torx head replacment man. hubs use allen heads. Will also need snap ring pliers. And yes a dental pic or any pointed tool will work to remove outer snap ring. I just ground down an old screwdriver.
     
  10. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    I didn't need the hub socket to take out the actual hub mechanism out itself, you need the socket to take off the outer bearing and the rotor.

    [​IMG]FUN WITH 31's![​IMG]
     
  11. James90

    James90 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 18, 2000
    Posts:
    986
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Mount NC
    thanks guys I am going to buy them in a day or two

    [​IMG]Go prepared

    I have a Shotgun a Rifle and a 4WD(K5) and Country Boy Can Survive!!!!
     

Share This Page