Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

auto to manual swap

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by blazing86, Dec 20, 2001.

  1. blazing86

    blazing86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is needed to swap in a sm465-205 to replace a 700r4-208 in an 86 blazer. I heard someone once mention something about having a new floor put in to do this?
     
  2. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    You dont need a new floor, but I can tell you from experience its easier to go from a manual to an automatic.

    86Jimmy 4"&35"MTRs,87 burb 4"&33"MT,69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Don't need a new floor, but it would be easy, except your tranny hump is welded in, not bolted like earlier trucks. Problem is the shifter. You can bend the 205 shifter handle to fit the stock 208 hole, but you can't (using stock parts) make the shift boot/plate fit without cutting some new holes or screwing into the body. The 208 tranny tunnel is reinforced from underneath where the 208 shifter hole is.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  4. Chaz88K5

    Chaz88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton/Lodi CA
    i just did that swap in a 88 blazer...the onlything you have to do is cut a hole in the floor for the shifter...if you pull up the carpet there will be a endented place in floor on the center hump where you need to cut..its all marked from the factory..also to put in the Hydro clutch set up on the fire wall there are marks there too where the holes need to be drilled for the master cylinder...it wasent that hard to do...i am still tryin to work out bugs tho...my drive shaft angles are off..(not caused from tranny swap..i did the axles too) and i need to pull the shifter out of the tranny and rebend it so it dosent hit my dash when i am in granny or 3rd gear...other than that its no big deal

    <font color=green>Chaz</font color=green>

    [​IMG]<a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/chaz88k5>http://community.webshots.com/user/chaz88k5</a>[​IMG]
     

Share This Page