Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Autolocking to Manual hubs

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by larsfrog, Jun 26, 2004.

1. larsfrog

larsfrog Registered Member

How difficult and involved is converting your autolocking hubs to manual, I have a 1986 K5 blazer 305? I was thinking of using Warn hubs (#20990) which I think it means that I need the spindle nut coversion kit for 3 hole cap screw auto hubs (#32720)? I am not that technically advanced as most of you answering these questions so please keep that in mind. Basically I am asking can anyone do this or should I pay a trained mechanic to do this for me?

2. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

It is pretty easy. It is the 6 cap bolts, 2-3 snaprings. that is it. If you have snap ring plyer and a dental style pick then the job is even easier.

Do your current auto hubs only have 3 screws in the outer cap? If it has more then 3 you WILL NOT need the conversion kit even though most places will try and sell you it. If it only has 3 bolts then you need the kit.

If you don't need the kit then here is how you do it.

1. Remove the locking hub retaining bolts on the outside of the cap.
    2.Pull Cap off.
    3.Remove the small snapring on the end of the axleshaft. (snapring plyers or whatever you got)
    4.Remove the large snapring (dental pick makes it easy or small screwdrivers, etc)
    5.Screw one of the bolts from the outer cap into the hole in the inner hub body. Use the screw to pull the body out.
    6.Remove the small inner snapring on the axleshaft.
    7.Reinstall new hubs in reverse. DO NOT reinstall the snap ring form step 6 though. Only reinstall the 2 outer snaprings

That is it.

Harley