Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Automatic Floor Shift

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by FL84K5, Jun 12, 2002.

  1. FL84K5

    FL84K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Is anybody running an automastic tranny floor shifter? Do you run it to make it easier to manually shift? Which one are you using? How hard is hookup? Seems like it would be hard to reach on the floor. Any pics?
     
  2. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    B&M makes a shifter that is taller for trucks. I have only heard one person complain about B&M, and they preferred Hurst. But Hurst doesnt make a Truck shifter that I have found yet. To make it easiest to slam gears be sure to get a ratchet shifter.
     
  3. FL84K5

    FL84K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    A ratchet shifter would be pretty cool. How hard is it to convert from column to floor?
     
  4. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Havent done it yet. Its all just nuts and bolts so it can be all that bad. /forums/images/icons/crazy.gif

    I think the hardest part will be placing it and drilling the hole for the cable. The B&M Mega truck shifter comes w/ the cable, but I am not sure how it secures at the tranny, and what you need connect the cable to the tranny linkage. It may all come in the kit, but I am not sure. Best bet is to ask when you order.
     
  5. FL84K5

    FL84K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Might be something me and my limited mechanical skills could figure out
     
  6. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Theyre not that hard to install.
     
  7. FL84K5

    FL84K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Thats good. Heck, for me, installing the tach was probably the biggest thing I've done so far. Installing the lift will be the biggest mechanical undertaking I've ever done, but I' really looking forward to doing it to get experece working on the Blazer.
     
  8. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Youll enjoy the stuff you do. People ask why the hell I work on mine all the time when I work on cars all day. Its not work then...its fun.
     
  9. LA Bogger

    LA Bogger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Robins AFB, Georgia, USA
    I run a B&M Quick Silver with my 700R. No problems yet if you want pic let me know.


    Eat More Mud!!!
     
  10. jackedjimmy

    jackedjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Posts:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redmond WA
    How de the cable hook up on a TH350? I know that a Th350 is normal shifted mechanically through the collum shift and then down a metal rail and then to the clamp piech on the trans. Does the Cable have to run into the case?

    Send me some pics please!!!!
     
  11. ratpack7

    ratpack7 Guest

    The guy I bought mine from put a floor shifter in and I thought I would hate it. I like it now except for the fact that it is a Camaro shifter out a of a junk yard and is mounted on a slant so the cable will reach I like it. I'm going to get a B&M some day when I have the money that doesnt need to be spent somwhere else.
     
  12. FL84K5

    FL84K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    LA Bogger, if you have a pic of it I would appreciate it. I would be running it on a 700R4 also.
     
  13. 350S10NJ

    350S10NJ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey, USA
  14. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    There is a bracket that bolts to your tansmision pan. This holds the cable housing in place. You unbolt the stock bracket on the shifter shaft and put on the one from B&M. The cable hooks up to this. It is a real piece of cake. When you see the parts it should be clear. Good Luck.
     
  15. LA Bogger

    LA Bogger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Robins AFB, Georgia, USA
    Tried to send you pic but your hotmail account rejected them. I will try again after I get off work. One at a time.

    Eat More Mud!!!
     
  16. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Can u just post it on the site LA Bogger the pic on the page looks likt it would be a long reach I would like to see it in a truck
     
  17. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
  18. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I defentaly want to get one of those from B&M but is it olnly 1 2 D? how do you keep it out of over drive if you have a 700R4?
     
  19. jackedjimmy

    jackedjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Posts:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redmond WA
    Is the only cut that you have to make in the floor for the cable, or must it be be bigger for something else.....

    Also, will the cable reach my tranny if I have a 2inch body lift?
     
  20. LA Bogger

    LA Bogger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Robins AFB, Georgia, USA
    I have a 3" body lift no problems.

    Eat More Mud!!!!
     

Share This Page