Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

awful noise turning right

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by freakpower, May 11, 2002.

1. freakpower

freakpower Registered Member

I’m fairly new to the Blazer thing, just bought the truck in September 01, and haven’t really fooled with it much since then. I’m OK with repairing most problems; it’s the proper diagnosis I have trouble with—which, of course, is 90% of being a decent mechanic. The point is to just please bear with me if I say anything stupid.

Anyway, my truck has developed an awful popping and wrenching noise that seems to be coming from the rear end when turning right. It sounds rhythmic, as if it could be related to wheel/axle rotation. Any ideas on the source of the problem? Does it make sense to have a steering-related issue in the rear end?

Any help would certainly be very much appreciated. Oh, relevant info: ’71 K5, 12-bolt rear, TH350 transmission, 4” lift.

Thanks.

2. Triaged

Triaged 1/2 ton status

It sounds like the diff is messed up. Pop off the cover and see if there are any chunks or flakes floating around in there.

3. NITRO

NITRO 1/2 ton status

if u have a locker in the rear, it may be it engaging/disengaging

NITRO

4. freakpower

Thanks for the input. Once you suggest the differential as a potential source of the problem, it makes perfect sense. If I'd thought a little harder, I might have realized that the differential exists to allow the wheels to rotate at different rates as the truck turns. Thanks again for being patient and not calling me a complete moron. Now let's hope things aren't too ugly when I crack it open for a look.

I'll let you know how it turns out--I may be looking for advice on upgrading to a 14-bolt.

Cheers.

5. Triaged

Triaged 1/2 ton status