Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Axel Identification

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Calclips, Nov 20, 2001.

1. Calclips

Calclips 1/2 ton status

Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    Hello everybody. I'm new to Solid axel 4wd drive systems and am looking at an 82 Chevy longbed (blazers are way too hard to come by in any respectable condition arround where I live). This truck is a 3/4 ton with a 14 bolt rear end. Somebody told me that it was a free floater, is there any way to positively find out if this is true. Also, how good are NP 208 T-Cases.

Thanks for any help you can give me

2. Blue85

Blue85 Troll Premium Member

I am not sure that the semi-floater (9.5" ring gear) was out in 82. The full-floater (10.5" ring gear) definately was. It is easy to tell the difference. The full-floater has a hub protruding out from the center of the wheel with several bolts on it. If you can see through the center hole of the wheel on the semi-floater, you will just see the outer part of the brake drum. Also, the bottom of the full-floater differential has a distinctive "V" shape to it, while the semi-floater looks more like other axles.

Check out the guide on this site at <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/axleguide.shtml>http://coloradok5.com/axleguide.shtml</a>

<font color=green>There's nothing like the smell of a rich V-8 in the morning...</font color=green>

3. Calclips

Calclips 1/2 ton status

Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    This truck has a large center hub that sticks way out. as far as bolts in it, I'd have to check. What exactly is full floating, semi floating, and non floating anyway? And could the stock axel have been converted?

4. Blazer1970

Blazer1970 1/2 ton status