Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Axle Questions Specs U-joints and more...

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by merc359, Jun 22, 2005.

1. merc359

merc359 1/2 ton status

Ok,

I am relatively new to building 4x4 drivelines as I am used to muscle-car applications, so all the changes I am making to the transfer-case, axles, etc, is for the first time. I'm hoping someone can provide me some information on various yokes and strengths and what not.

I have a 1978 shortbox chevy pickup 1/2 ton 4x4 with a brand new 350 engine, spanking new TH-350 transmission, and a just-rebuilt NP-205 transfer-case, Danna 44 front axle and Corporate 12 bolt rear axle. Ultimately I would like to upgrade both axles, but more on that later....

First, The transfer-case I have has a 1310 fixed front output and a 1350 fixed rear output yoke. Naturally, as a 1/2 ton, the driveshafts will have to be reworked as it was all set up for 1310 yokes all the way back and forth on front and back.

My questions are these:
    1. Where does one buy new yokes for the rear axle input?
    2. My front driveshaft has a CV in it (if that is what it is with the 2 u-joints and large knuckle) given that the rest of the front drive-shaft was set up with 1310 joints, if I upgrade to 1350 on the front (if possible) is there a comparable upgrade to the CV unit or is it strong enough regardless? What about clearance (within the CV) due to the larger cap size of the u-joint?
    3. Any information about the Dana 44 and corporate 12 bolt axles? I have had absolutely no experience with either of these. I don't do a lot of heavy axle wrenching off-roading, but I do like to do long-range off road exploring where making-it-out is the top priority. That is why I am trying to upgrade a lot of this stuff.