Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

axle shaft

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 1st timer, Nov 26, 2000.

1. 1st timer

1st timer Registered Member

hey guys,need help i'm new to all this including the blazer so far i love it but one of my rear axle shaft broke in half, i can't find one in a junk yard as nobody has blazer in them only the s10's i found a couple on the net but then i have to figure out how to put it, it seems i have to take the whole differential apart, and how can i find out if its a limited slip or whatever to order it. Man this really sucks thanks for any help and glad to have found this site.

2. 6.2Blazer

6.2Blazer 1/2 ton status

I can't believe no junkyards have an axle shaft....around here there are tons of them.
    The Blazer will have what is called a Corporate 10-bolt axle, and the '86 (if stock) should have the 28 spline axleshafts. The axleshafts were the same whether it was an open diff or a limited slip, or what gear ratio it is. The exact same axle was also found in 1/2 ton Suburbans and pickups starting in the early '80's up to '88 or so (when they switched over to 30 spline axles, which will not work in your application). You can also order a new axle shaft from most of the drivetrain shops you see advertised in the magazines for around $100.