Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Axle Swap Help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bradschmeider, Oct 9, 2003.

1. bradschmeider

bradschmeider Newbie

I a proud new owner of a 72 K5 and also a new member. I have limited mechanical experience, but I am gutting this blazer all this winter if it doesn't drive me crazy first. The truck has a 44 & 12 bolt already, but I want to upgrade the axles. I live in the Outer Banks of NC and this truck will be used primarily offroad. I plan in the future to put a lot more horses under the hood and abuse it on the beach. I have it on blocks in my garage and have all winter to play with it. I have some general questions though...

Do all 14 bolts from chevy fit under a 72?
    Which specific ones should I look for?
    What is a full floater and why is this preferred?
    How do you tell the axle is a full floater?
    What other parts will I need to swap?
    Same questions as above for a Dana 60 up front?
    Any books or places on the web to make job easier?

Any help on this is appreciated. Colorado k5 has been a big help in all of my other projects on this blazer so far. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. mudjunkie 82

mudjunkie 82 1 ton status GMOTM Winner