Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

axle swap or no?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by KGsK5, Aug 27, 2006.

1. KGsK5

KGsK5 1/2 ton status

i have an 83 blazer with the 6.2 L diesel in it and stock axles and gearing... i want to run 35s or maybe 37s and be able to go out and have fun in the mud with it. when i bought the truck it came with a dana 44 front and a 14 bolt corp rear... niether of them are installed. would it be worth it to install these axles? what would be the benefits (or drawbacks) of installing them? :confused:

P.S. as you can probably tell... i am new to the whole off road scene and i really appreciate the feedback. :blush:

2. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status

Yep it would be worth it to install them.

Can't really think of any drawbacks of installing them, other than the loss of ground clearance in the rear, and the need to go to 8 lug wheels. But the increase in strength from the 14 bolt would outweigh the negatives.

Do some searching, and you will see plenty of threads about installing these axles.

3. beater_k20

beater_k20 Banned

if you've got a 700R4 in your Blazer (which IIRC most diesel Blazers do) the 4.10 gears that are likely in your 3/4 tons are just about perfect for a truck that will see a good deal of highway driving with 35s. from what i am told, 6.2s are most efficient right ~1800 rpms. 4.10s combined with the .7:1 OD of the 700R4 will give you 1790 according to my speed calculator, factor in a little for loss through the auto trans, and you're right about where you want to be.

4. gmcjimmy4x4

gmcjimmy4x4 1/2 ton status

Ive got a 91 with 10 bolt front and 14 bolt in rear. I just got back from atrip with both front axles broke. Not strrong enough for my 37S i guess.

5. beater_k20

beater_k20 Banned