Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Axle thought?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by gm4x, Apr 7, 2004.

1. gm4x

gm4x 1/2 ton status

I'd read a couple posts, and I can't remember what the situation was (swap or ?), but it required an axle to run on the "coast" side of the gears. I was wondering (and can't picture it unless I had one setting in front of me) of you axle tubes were removed, the differential section "flipped over" (rotated 180) then the tunes reinstalled, would this correct gear rotation?

I'm not in the process, I just have one of those inquiring minds. More of a curiousity thing /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

I am no expert on it. But I think you need a reverse rotation axle to be right. What you just described sounds like running the axle upside down. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif

3. gm4x

gm4x 1/2 ton status

Well, this isn't a project I have, somewhere here I'd read of someone having a similar problem (running gears backwards) which in turn got my mind thinkin'. Wish I could remember where I'd read it. I didn't know if my thoughts of an end to end tube swap, while flipping the diff housing would cause the gears to then rotate in the correct direction or not? Course you'd have to tap & plug vent tube, redrill vent fttg hole in the (bottom) now top-side, probably same thing with fill plug.

LOL....not worth putting a whole lot of thought into here. too much'a that gives me a headache. /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

4. big jimmy 91

big jimmy 91 1/2 ton status

This was mentioned in a post about a week ago???
    (the reverse rotation stuff) /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    don't know myself lol

5. driney

driney 1/2 ton status Premium Member